Winners of ASNE-APME’s NLA Awards 2019

Stories ranging from mass shootings to the environment were recognized for their distinguished writing, digital storytelling and photography.

The American Society of News Editors (ASNE) and Associated Press Media Editors (APME) announced April 2 the winners of this year’s NLA Awards, which honors the best in print, digital, photo and video content in 11 categories, according to ASNE’s website.

Here are the winners of the 2019 NLA Awards, as listed on the website:

Batten Medal for Courage in Journalism
Maggie Michael of The Associated Press 
Yemen’s Dirty War

Burl Osborne Award for Editorial Leadership
Large: The staff of The Palm Beach Post, South Florida Sun Sentinel, The Miami Herald and WLRN Public Radio
The Invading Sea: Can South Florida be saved?

Small: Corey Friedman of The Wilson Times
School’s policy stifles speech

Deborah Howell Award for Writing Excellence
Dan Barry and Jeffrey E. Singer of The New York Times
The Case of Jane Doe Ponytail

Dori J. Maynard Award for Justice in Journalism
Sharon Cohen, David Goldman and Mary Hudetz of The Associated Press
Missing in Indian Country

Frank A. Blethen Award for Local Accountability Reporting
Large: Barbara Laker, Wendy Ruderman and Dylan Purcell of The Philadelphia Inquirer
Toxic City: Sick Schools

Small: Ed Williams of Searchlight New Mexico
A Pattern of Failures

Mike Royko Award for Commentary and Column Writing
Melinda Henneberger of The Kansas City Star
Columns by Melinda Henneberger

O’Brien Fellowship Award for Impact in Public Service Journalism
The staff of the South Florida Sun Sentinel

Punch Sulzberger Award for Innovative Storytelling
Large: The staff of The Washington Post

Small: Marcel Honore, April Estrellon and Cory Lum of Honolulu Civil Beat
Are We Ready?

Al Neuharth Breaking News Reporting Award
The staff of Capital Gazette, Annapolis, Maryland, and The Baltimore Sun
Capital Gazette shooting

Visual Journalism Award
Large: Kristen Zeis of The Virginian-Pilot
No Turning Back: The story of a transgender man’s experience as a Navy sailor

Small: Todd Wiseman, Alana Rocha and Justin Dehn of The Texas Tribune
The Texas Tribune: 13 Hours to Midnight

First Amendment Award
Stephen Deere, Dan Klepal, J. Scott Trubey and Kelly Yamanouchi of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
How Atlanta Trampled the Public’s Right to Know


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s